El Salvador History

Presidents of El Salvador

Presidents of El Salvador from 1984 to the present.

The Presidents of El Salvador stay in office for a five-year term; they are elected by popular vote. To become president, a candidate must win 50% plus one of the total votes cast in the election. If no candidate … Read more

El Mozote massacre

El Mozote massacre. A dark point in Salvadoran history.

El Mozote massacre was executed by the Salvadoran Army in the El Mozote village in the department of Morazan in December 1981. More than 800 civilians that included women and children, were murdered on this day. The massacre was … Read more